No Leith Biomass Plant

What can I do? Click the blue button to sign the 2012 Petition, to persuade MSPs to oppose subsidising big biomass in Scotand

Scottish Government Policy

Scottish Government is committed to producing 80% of energy from renewable sources, by 2020. The key issue is, what role is biomass seen to play in this overall strategy?

At the 5th May 2011 election, the SNP won a majority of seats in the Scottish Parliament & Alex Salmond was re-elected as First Minister.

  • The Minister for Energy, Enterprise and Tourism is Fergus Ewing
  • The Minister for Environment and Climate Change is Stewart Stevenson

    • Post-election, locally - some continuity and some changes affecting Leith:
      • Malcom Chisholm (Labour) stays as MSP for Edinburgh North and Leith.
      • Kenny MacAskill (SNP) stays for Edinburgh East.
      • Marco Biagi (SNP) replaces Sarah Boyack (Lab) in Edinburgh Central.

        • All three are on record as being against the Leith Biomass plant
          • The new 'Regional List' MSPs are:

            •   Sarah Boyack (Lab); Gavin Brown (Con); Kezia Dugdale (Lab); Neil
                Findlay (Lab); Alison Johnstone (Green); Margo MacDonald (Ind);
                David McLetchie (Con)

Survey of Scottish Parliamentary Candidates

  • In the run-up to the election, we surveyed Scottish parliamentary candidates. Many were clear in their rejection of Forth Energy's biomass plant proposals.